Je m’appelle hind

I finally picked up the courage to start writing my own blog; something I’ve been postponing for quite some time now. I think the reason I’ve been hesitant on posting my views on the Internet for the whole world to see is because I’m scared of Grammar Nazis and people judging me and that I will end up on an island all by myself with a volleyball named Wilson as my only companion.

Well that escalated quickly.

Here’s a Grammar Nazi meme that will distract you from what you just read.

grammar_nazi

And heres Tom Hanks yelling at Wilson in Castaway.

Castaway

Aaaaanyway. I think it’s all about confidence. I start writing something but then end up not publishing it and then deleting it because I feel it’s not good enough. But I guess I have to start somewhere, and hopefully after some time I’ll get better. I need to write more and pluck up the courage to face the blogging world, after all writing is what I’ll be doing for a living for God’s sake! Therefore I’m going to follow an advice someone dear gave to me; she said if you write from your heart, it is bound to reach other people’s hearts.

I should mention that I’m not a very opinionated person; I don’t adopt a thought and root for it until I die and I certainly don’t rant about it in every-5-minutes posts on Facebook (I’m talking about you, yes, you, a thousand likes on a picture will not free Palestine from the Occupation). I do not believe that there is either a black or a white side to every story. I always allow some grey in between just because life is too short to make these dichotomies. I’m not saying I don’t have opinions and views on contemporary issues and on whether my best friend should wear her black heels that make her legs look fat but go perfectly with her dress, or red heels that show her painted toe nails but don’t go that well with her dress, but I feel like there is always room for change and that some details and events can be revealed later on that can change my perspective on a certain issue.

I remember when I was younger, whenever my friends asked me what my favourite colour is (a question, that can fundamentally be the foundation of an everlasting friendship for all 6-year-olds) I would say that my favourite colour is the rainbow –enter question mark face here. I realise now that I liked all colours in the rainbow, I did not want to choose only one. I did not want to tie myself to just one colour; I liked green, blue, red, yellow, orange, indigo, violet because put together they all make one beautiful thing. What I mean is I don’t like to tie myself up to one and only one opotion or opinion, I like to keep an open mind to all views.

This blog is going to be all about Egypt and my opinions about issues taking place there. I will be sharing my opinion, and this opinion will be open to any other opinions, and who knows, maybe one day my opinion will fall in love with your opinion and they can unite in marriage to form a third opinion that is more literate and well-rounded. So please, correct me whenever I’m wrong and share your views with me when I’m right. Like they say, it’s always better to make your mistakes early than to make them when it is too late for them to be fixed.

One comment

  1. Yazan Sitabouha · · Reply

    You’ve always been a special one, so is your writing. You’re on the right track Hind. Proud of you.

Leave a Reply

